bmr>HOTSPOT>[samples] ジェイ・Z新作『4:44』のサンプリング元ネタまとめ


[samples] ジェイ・Z新作『4:44』のサンプリング元ネタまとめ

Jay-Z - 4:44

ジェイ・Zが予定どおり新作『4:44』をTIDAL独占先行配信でリリース。ノーI.D.全面プロデュースということで、やはりサンプリングが多用されております。ということで、その元ネタを、iHeard Radioでジェイ・Z自ら語った楽曲解説と共にお届け。ニーナ・シモン、スティーヴィー・ワンダー、クラーク・シスターズ、ダニー・ハサウェイなどなど。またジェイは、『4:44』にインスピレーションを与えた音楽のプレイリストをTIDALで公開しています。

なお『4:44』は1週間後にはiTunes/Apple Musicでの配信、そして時期は不明ですがCD発売も予定されているとのことで、TIDALがサービスインしていない日本の我々は今しばしの辛抱となりそうです。[7/7 update: Spotify以外のプラットフォームでのデジタル配信および、ボーナストラック付きCDが発売開始]

1. Kill Jay Z

“The first song is called ‘Kill JAY-Z’ and obviously, it’s not to be taken literal. It’s really about the ego. It’s about killing off the ego, so we can have this conversation in a place of vulnerability and honesty.”

contains a sample and portions from “Don’t Let It Show” by The Alan Parsons Project


2. The Story Of O.J.

“The Story of OJ’ is really a song about we as a culture, having a plan, how we’re gonna push this forward. We all make money, and then we all lose money, as artists especially. But how, when you have some type of success, to transform that into something bigger.”

contains elements and excerpts from “Four Women” by Nina Simone

contains a sample and portions from “Kool Is Back” by Funk Inc.


3. Smile (feat. Gloria Carter)

“‘Smile’ is just what it is. There are gonna be bad times, and those bad times can do two things: they can get you in a place where you’re stuck in a rut, or it can make your future that much better because you’ve experienced these things.”

contains elements and excerpts from “Love’s In Need Of Love Today” by Stevie Wonder


4. Caught Their Eyes (feat. Frank Ocean)

“‘Caught The Eye’ is a song that’s dealing with just being aware of your surroundings. There’s a line in it, and it says, ‘Your body language is all remedial, how could you see the difference between you and I?’ Just being so sharp about your surroundings.”

contains a sample and excerpts from “Baltimore” by Nina Simone


5. 4:44 (additional vocals by Kim Burrell)

“’4:44′ is a song that I wrote, and it’s the crux of the album, just right in the middle of the album. And I woke up, literally, at 4:44 in the morning, 4:44 AM, to write this song. So it became the title of the album and everything. It’s the title track because it’s such a powerful song, and I just believe one of the best songs I’ve ever written.”

contains a sample of “Late Nights and Heartbreak” by Hannah Williams and The Affirmations


6. Family Feud (feat. by Beyoncé)

“‘Family Feud’ is about separation within the culture. Like, new rappers fighting with old rappers, saying all these things. So, the line is, ‘Nobody wins when the family feuds.’”

contains portions of “Ha Ya (Eternal Life)” by The Clark Sisters


7. Bam (feat. Damian Marley)

“The song ‘Bam’ with Damian Marley, it’s just jammin’, it’s just like the song. But it’s secretly Shawn Carter saying, ‘Man, you need a bit of ego.’ It was because of me and the things that I’ve done, this is JAY-Z saying you needed a bit of ego for us to arrive at this point.”

contains elements from “Bam Bam” by Sister Nancy

contains elements from “Tenement Yard” by Jacob Miller


8. Moonlight

“The hook is ‘We stuck in La La Land/Even if we win, we gonna lose.’ It’s like a subtle nod to La La Land winning the Oscar, and then having to give it to Moonlight. It’s really a commentary on the culture and where we’re going.”

contains a sample from “Fu-Gee-La” by The Fugees


9. Marcy Me (additional vocals by The-Dream)

“‘Marcy Me’ is a nostalgic walk through Marcy, and it’s about that hopefulness, that feeling of ‘Man, can I really do this? Can I really be one of the biggest artists in the world?’ You have these dreams, ‘Can I be one of the biggest basketball players?’ We have these dreams.”

contains elements from “Todo O Mundo E Ninguém” by Quarteto 1111


10. Legacy (additional vocals by Blue Ivy Carter & James Fauntletroy)

“The song is just about what it is, it’s like a verbal will. Just a song about speaking to my daughter. She starts the song off, and she says ‘Daddy, what’s a will?’”

contains a sample and excerpts from “Someday We’ll All Be Free” by Donny Hathaway

contains portions of “Glaciers of Ice” by Raekwon feat. Masta Killa & Ghostface Killah